Aquesta Specialised Uropathology is celebrating 14 years of practice in Australia

From its 2008 opening, Aquesta Pathology has been committed to providing a dedicated Specialized Uropathology service. Our focus is to provide to the highest standards, accurate histopathological diagnoses relating to the Urinary System and Male Genital Organs. We believe that ongoing research, publications and teaching are integral to the delivery of a high quality service such as ours. The staff  at Aquesta Pathology are committed to providing a timely and excellent service which we believe is essential for optimum patient care. While our main focus is to provide a primary diagnostic service in uropathology, we also provide a consultation service providing expert second opinions on uropathology cases.

Follow this link to read “Instructions for sending biopsy slides for consultation”


Hemamali Samaratunga MBBS  LRCP  MRCS  FRCPA FRCPath



  Professor of Pathology

The University of Queensland

   Visiting Medical Officer

Greenslopes Private Hospital



International Society of Urological Pathology honours Professor Hema Samaratunga (2022)


At the recent scientific meeting of the International Society of Urological Pathology held in Basel, Switzerland, the President of the Society, Professor Ken Iczkowski presented Professor Samaratunga with the Society’s Grawitz Medal. The award recognized Professor Samartunga’s outstanding contribution both to the Society and to urological pathology. In presenting the award Professor Iczkowski highlighted Professor Samaratunga’s prominent role in Australian genitourinary pathology and her extensive scientific achievements, as well as her important role in supporting the work of the Society.





The Grawitz Medal is awarded by the International Society of Urological Pathology for sustained contributions to the advancement of uropathology and to date has only been awarded on 11 occasions. This is the first time it has been awarded to an Australian.


Aquesta authors share in the 2023 Article of the Year awarded by the Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia. The annual award is presented for the top research paper published in the College’s journal Pathology and was for the article, ‘Percentage grade 4 tumour predicts outcome for prostate adenocarcinoma in needle biopsies from patients with advanced disease: 10-year data from the TROG 03.04 RADAR trial’.

The chair of the Article of the Year selection panel, Professor Richard Scolyer noted that the paper was of outstanding scientific merit and was the most significant manuscript published during the year.

Aquesta authors of the paper were Professor Hemamali Samaratunga, Professor Brett Delahunt and Professor Lars Egevad.



Joanna Perry-Keene MBBS  FRCPA


Honorary Associate

Lars Egevad  MD  PhD

Professor of Pathology, Dept of Pathology,

Radiumhemmet P1:02 Karolinska University Hospital 171 76 Stockholm, Sweden